The History Department at the Ohio State University aspires to distinction in scholarship, teaching, and service. As a top-tier department in an eminent public university, we seek to advance the highest standards of our discipline. Because we believe that research inspires great teaching, our mission is to promote the finest historical scholarship, and to offer both graduate and undergraduate students the most rigorous and intellectually challenging education. Espousing the values of a diverse and collegial community of historians, we explore connections across areas, eras, and themes. We strive to provide comprehensive and challenging understandings of the complexity of the human past to audiences across the state, the nation, and the world at large. Learn more about our department's inner workings by reading our Pattern of Departmental Administration.
Originally formed in 1879 as the Department of History and Philosophy, our department has a long and varied history. In 1969, Francis P. Weisenburger wrote, "A Brief History of Our Department," which outlines our early years. 
Among other awards, the following faculty have won the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.
2018 -- Greg Anderson
2018 -- Bart Elmore
2015 -- Robin Judd
2013 -- David Hoffmann
2012 -- Hasan Kwame Jeffries
2011 -- Nicholas B. Breyfogle
2011 -- Scott Levi
2009 -- Randolph Roth
2009 -- David H. Steigerwald
2006 -- Geoffrey Parker
2005 -- Mitchell Lerner
1998 -- Mark Grimsley 

Department of History Officers 2018-2019:

Scott Levi
(Chair Scott Levi)
Chair - Scott Levi
Vice Chair - Sara Butler
Graduate Studies Committee Chair - Greg Anderson
Director of Graduate Admissions - Alison Beach (FPL AU2018)
Undergraduate Teaching Committee Chair - Chris Otter
Honors Coordinator - Stephanie Shaw
Library Coordinator - Matt Goldish
Graduate Placement Officer - Clay Howard
Undergraduate Enhancement Officer - Randy Roth
Parliamentarian - David Stebenne

Department of History Committee Chairs 2018-2019:

Graduate Studies Committee Chair - Greg Anderson
Undergraduate Teaching Committee Chair - Chris Otter
Promotion and Tenure Committee Chair - Alice Conklin
Diversity and Inclusion Committee Chair - Hasan Jeffries
Awards and Prizes Committee Chair - David Hoffmann
Grievance Committee Chair - David Brakke
Salary Advisory Committee Chair - Sara Butler
Workplace Climate Committee Chair - Bert Harrill

Department of History Centers and Other:

Center for Historical Research (CHR) - John Brooke, Director
     CHR Program 2017-2019: "Revolutions" - Margaret Newell, Program Chair (FPL SP2019)
Goldberg Center - Thomas McDow, Director
Director of Public History - David Staley
Origins Editors - Nick Breyfogle and David Steigerwald (Ohio State) and Steve Conn (Miami University)
Undergraduate Newsletter Editors - Daniel Rivers and Rhonda Maynard
ETEP Editor - Tim Gregory
RTAP Editor - Margaret Newell (FPL SP2019)
ASC Senate Delegate -  Stephanie Smith
ASC Senate Delegate Alternate - Chris Reed
University Senate Delegate - Ousman Kobo (SA SP2019)

Faculty on Leave

Alison Beach (FPL - AU)
Margaret Newell (FPL - SP)
Kristina Sessa (FPL - AU)
Jennifer Siegel (FPL - SP)
Stephanie Smith (FPL - AU)
Sarah Van Beurden (FPL - AU & SP)
Ying Zhang (FPL - SP)
David Brakke (SA - AU)
Sara Butler (SA - AU)
Ousman Kobo (SA - SP)
David Steigerwald (SA - AU)
Mytheli Sreenivas (SA - SP)
Sam White (EFS - AU)


FPL = Faculty Professional Leave (leave from teaching & service)
EFS = External Fellowship Subsidy (leave from teaching & service)
SA = Special Assignment (leave from teaching only)
UPL = Unpaid Professional Leave (leave from teaching & service)