Ohio State nav bar

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The department recognizes that true academic excellence depends in part on the pursuit of innovative research, effective teaching and learning, and engaged outreach.  It also requires recruiting and supporting a diverse population of faculty, staff, and students.  Although diversity means different things to different people, here the term refers to categories including race, color, sex, religion, national or ethnic origin, sexual orientation and identities, veteran status, disability, and age.  Thus, the History Department is committed to creating an inclusive environment, welcoming to all, where success and prestige are based solely on achievement.  We start with the assumption that diversity is everyone’s goal and to everyone’s benefit.  Because we believe that diversity enhances both the intellectual community at Ohio State and the quality of our scholarship and teaching, in addition to attention to hiring and admissions, diversity also requires critical engagement with diverse intellectual perspectives in all fields.  The discipline of history explores the full range of the human experience in all its variety, and specific fields will grapple with the issue of diversity in distinct ways.  The Department must operate fully within the University’s “Diversity Action Plan and in a spirit of inclusion.”

The Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee consists of faculty, graduate student, and staff representatives. The committee will oversee diversity-related projects and make recommendations on diversity issues as appropriate. It will work with or make suggestions to other committees as needed. The chair of the diversity committee will serve as the departmental procedures oversight designee, providing guidance on diversity issues and being available as a point of contact for complaints of discrimination or harassment.

Learn more about Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in our department.

2023-2024 Committee Members

Stephanie Smith, Chair
Ryan Fontanilla
Hasan Jeffries (ex officio, DRO)
Amanda Respess
Daniel Rivers
Ahmad Sikainga
GSAC Representative